Here we go….

Spain is creeping up closer and closer, and will be here in less than three days.  I have undoubtedly been looking forward to this…except for all those doubts that are suddenly popping up.  Will I be missed?  Will I be able to communicate?  Will I make friends?  Will I get lost in the darkest alley imaginable and be stolen off to the recesses of Europe?  (What is possibly worrisome in itself is that that last fear is barely on my radar.)

Before all these can be tackled, however, I have to actually step onto the plane, which means I have to actually make it to the airport, which means I need to be packed and such by then, which is a problem.
My to-do list so far:

  • take defensive driving
  • do laundry and pack
  • clean and vacuum my room
  • buy a laptop battery
  • return my tricked-out rental minivan
  • visit a few more people….

….and so on.  So a few prayers would be helpful.

On that note, though, I am blessedly confident that the Lord can handle this to-do list and everything else that gets thrown at me this semester.  The Lord is big enough to handle language barriers, and metro schedules written in every language but mine, and loneliness, and crazy food with black olives.  The Lord who can run the world as he wants can figure out Europe for a semester, I think.

“He wraps up the waters in his clouds, yet the clouds do not burst under their weight. He covers the face of the full moon, spreading his clouds over it. He marks out the horizon on the face of the waters for a boundary between light and darkness. The pillars of the heavens quake, aghast at his rebuke. And these are but the outer fringe of his works; how faint the whisper we hear of him! Who then can understand the thunder of his power?”  Job 26:8-11, 14

4 thoughts on “Here we go….

  1. Emily!! Can I just say that your trip is coming a lot sooner than I thought! Lol! For one…you will be missed, heck I miss you already, so of course I will miss you when you are out of the country! And second of all…I will be praying for you everyday!! Hope you have an awesome trip! Im going to be reading your blogs…hopefully we can keep in touch while you are over three (Ill pray for that too!) šŸ™‚ Love you and remember…HAVE A BLAST!

  2. Hey girlie! I love the irony of a New York skyline verses a blog about Spain šŸ˜‰ To answer your questions: Will you be missed? Of course! There won't be any visitors to my house this semester! I won't get any lovely texts from you! I won't get to hug your neck for four months! Will you be able to communicate? um, sweetheart, I love you but there's this nifty new invention called the INTERNET, and a website called SKYPE. I'll teach you about it this weekend šŸ˜‰ Will you make friends? I have absolute faith in you. It won't be super easy, and you will have to step out of your box for a little bit (maybe lay off the snarkiness for the first few days? lol) And, Jesus will be right next to you, the whole time! What an awesome bonus! Will you get lost in the darkest ally and kidnapped? I hope not, but just for caution's sake, lets get you a GPS, or at least a map, okay? And we'll mark off the dark allies, so you don't make a wrong turn :-)Also, I totally think you should rent Liam Neeson while you're away; you don't need him to be a bodyguard or anything (though I'm sure you'd like that chica šŸ˜‰ ), just to be on call in case the young virgin salesmen get you.

  3. Emily, you know how much I love to travel, but I have never been to Spain, so I will enjoy "traveling" with you and look forward to your blog. Enjoy your studies and share with thos eus back "stateside" often!

  4. Hey roomie,I miss you already, you are the coolest (and only) blogger I know! Yay for defensive driving WHOOP! ;)PS…you are not allowed to watch Taken anymore, especially without me.PPS…you are so not the loudest and proudest member of the class of 2012. LOVE YOU!!!!Sarah

Leave a Reply

