The Cathedral in the Middle of a Mosque, etc.

I first must apologize for my absence.  Much thanks to Kenny Long, my computer finally works again, and everything is about back to normal.  The last few weeks have passed in a blur of buying flights, taking midterms, and cheering for the Aggies from across the ocean.  (So proud of our boys!  Whoop!)  It is crazy to think that I have barely over a month here!  I’m still not sure where the last three weeks went.  I’ll be ready to be back, though, I’m sure of it.  George Moore said, “A man travels the world over in search of what he needs and returns home to find it.”  I’m inclined to agree. 

This weekend went by in the usual quick fashion that most of our excursions exhibit.  Friday morning we took a bus to Cordoba to see the Mezquita.  I was so incredibly excited to see this cathedral, because I studied it in an architectural history class a few semesters ago.  I walked into the cathedral, and the pictures we saw then immediately came to mind, and it amazed me that I was suddenly under those polychrome voussoirs that I had studied!  The cathedral was originally a Christian church, built in the 600s by the Visigoths.  Then when the Moors came to Spain, Emir Abd al-Rahman began building a mosque on top of the church.  In 1236, Cordoba was reconquered by Fernando III, and finally, when Carlos I (Charles V of Germany) came to power, a Roman Catholic cathedral was built on top of it.  The Muslim patio is still intact, and much of the architecture is still visible.  The rest of the city was relatively unimpressive, and I’m glad that we left that afternoon.

After a bus trip to Granda, we checked into our (gorgeous) hotel and grabbed dinner before our flamenco show.  We actually had Burger King, which tasted exactly the same, only significantly more expensive– about ten dollars for a combo meal!  But welcome to Europe, right?  After dinner, we hiked (and hiked and hiked) up to a nieghborhood that overlooked the entire city, including the Alhambra palace, built by the Moors in the 1300s.  It was such a breathtaking view!  Then it was off to the flamenco show, an informal hour-long presentation with two groups.  It was a lot of fun, and definitely worth the climb, despite the cold.  The next morning we went to the Alhambra, and toured the palace and the gardens.  It was absolutely gorgeous, and I’m so glad things like this are well preserved!     
The next few weeks will go by even faster, I’m sure.  I’m going to Barcelona this weekend, Paris the next, then Italy for 8 days.  The next weekend I’ll be studying for finals, and then it’s an overnight bus ride to Madrid for my flight to Berlin!  Christmas will be here before we know it and I will barely beat it to America.  I hope you are all doing well, and can’t wait to see you soon!

2 thoughts on “The Cathedral in the Middle of a Mosque, etc.

  1. Hey Emily, Audrey was going to sit on the arm of the sofa to brush my hair and somehow she fell just right so that she fractured both bones in her forearm. She has a splint right now and is getting a cast on Tues (probably pink). She is doing pretty well, praise the Lord!! Hope your last month is going well! Did I tell you about my blog? I haven't updated it lately but I'd love for you to visit it. http://www.whatawildride.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

